PD Dr. med. Malte Rieken

University lecturer PD Dr. med. Malte Rieken studied Human Medicine at the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich. After completing his medical studies in 2007, he trained as a specialist in urology at the Basel University Hospital. In 2013, Malte Rieken spent a research sabbatical in urological oncology at the renowned Weill Cornell Medical College in New York, USA. In 2016, Malte Rieken habilitated and received the venia legendi, the authorization to teach urology at the University of Basel. He subsequently moved to the Department of Urology at the Medical University of Vienna as a senior physician, before joining alta uro in July 2017.

Malte Rieken holds the European title of Specialist Consultant (Facharzt) in urology, Fellow of the European Board of Urology (FEBU). Malte Rieken is an active member of numerous urological societies and groups of experts. His scientific and professional focus is on the treatment of benign prostate enlargement or hyperplasia. Rieken is a member of the Guideline Committee of the European Society of Urology (EAU) and the German Society of Urology for the treatment of benign prostate hyperplasia. In addition, Malte Rieken is a member of the task group of the lower urinary tract of the EAU Section of Uro-Technology.

Malte Rieken is Associate Editor of the European Urology Focus journal. His scientific work has been awarded numerous national and international prizes. Malte Rieken is author of more than 250 scientific articles, congress contributions, and book chapters.

Languages: German, English, and French

PD Dr. med. Malte Rieken

Privatdozent Dr. med. Malte Rieken studierte Humanmedizin an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München. Nach Abschluss des Medizinstudiums im Jahr 2007 erfolgte die Ausbildung zum Facharzt für Urologie am Universitätsspital Basel. Im Jahr 2013 verbrachte Malte Rieken ein Forschungsjahr in urologischer Onkologie am renommierten Weill Cornell Medical College in New York, USA. 2016 habilitierte sich Malte Rieken und erhielt die Lehrbefugnis für das Fach Urologie an der Universität Basel. Anschliessend wechselte Malte Rieken als Oberarzt an die Urologische Klinik der Medizinischen Universität Wien, bevor er im Juli 2017 seine Tätigkeit bei alta uro aufnahm.

Malte Rieken besitzt den Europäischen Facharzttitel für Urologie, Fellow of the European Board of Urology (FEBU). Malte Rieken ist aktives Mitglied zahlreicher urologischer Fachgesellschaften und Expertengruppen. Der wissenschaftliche und fachliche Schwerpunkt liegt im Bereich der Therapie der gutartigen Prostatavergrösserung. So ist Rieken Mitglied des Leitliniengremiums der Europäischen Gesellschaft für Urologie (EAU) sowie der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Urologie zur Therapie der gutartigen Prostatavergrösserung.. Zudem ist Malte Rieken Mitglied der Arbeitsgruppe unterer Harntrakt der Sektion für Urotechnologie der EAU.

Malte Rieken ist Associate Editor der Fachzeitschrift European Urology Focus. Seine wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten wurden mit zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet. Malte Rieken ist Autor von mehr als 250 wissenschaftlichen Fachartikeln, Kongressbeiträgen und Buchkapiteln.

Sprachen: Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch