ClickCease
Diagnostics

NanoKnife

Limitations of traditional rectal prostate biopsy

Up to now, the diagnosis of suspected prostate cancer consisted of a palpation of the prostate (so-called digital rectal examination, DRU) and the determination of a blood value, the so-called prostate-specific antigen (PSA).

In the case of conspicuous findings, an ultrasound-guided biopsy of the prostate was performed via the rectum. Today, this procedure is increasingly viewed critically. Today, the primary aim is to avoid biopsies. However, if a biopsy is necessary, the tumour should be precisely and reliably targeted by the biopsy. Furthermore, the biopsy must ensure that there are no other tumours in the rest of the prostate. This is of utmost importance for planning a focal therapy. The solution is robot-assisted mpMRI/TRUS fusion and mapping biopsy of the prostate.

Limitations of traditional rectal prostate biopsy

Two tumours are localised in the prostate shown: In the centre of the image above, with a dark centre, an aggressive prostate carcinoma requiring treatment. The image on the left, light blue, shows a prostate cancer that does not require treatment.

Prostate biopsy
Figure 1/4

Prostate biopsy

Both tumours in the prostate are not hit.

Prostate biopsy
Figure 2/4

Prostate biopsy

The low-risk tumour is diagnosed, the aggressive and dangerous tumour is overlooked.

Prostate biopsy
Figure 3/4

Prostate biopsy

The relevant prostate carcinoma is only hit in the periphery and thus its aggressiveness is underestimated.

Prostate biopsy
Figure 4/4

Prostate biopsy

This is how it should be. The prostate carcinoma in need of treatment is targeted.

In order to avoid unnecessary treatment, it is important to distinguish between significant (in need of treatment) and insignificant (not in need of treatment) prostate carcinomas. This subdivision is based, among other things, on the fine-tissue (histological) examination of tissue samples from the prostate, so-called biopsies.

The standard procedure is the systematic transrectal ultrasound-guided biopsy (TRUS). In this procedure, 10-12 biopsy cylinders are taken from the prostate via the rectum. However, the sensitivity of this traditional method is limited. It is 53 % in autopsy studies. This means that a prostate carcinoma is simply often overlooked during the biopsy (Fig. 1). If the detection of a prostate carcinoma is successful with the TRUS biopsy, the question arises as to whether the result of the biopsy actually correctly identifies the fine-tissue tumour stage. This is of immense importance for therapy planning or prognosis assessment of the disease.

In fact, the risk of misclassification, i.e. aggressive tumours are overlooked or underestimated in their aggressiveness, by conventional prostate biopsy is between 21 % and 54 % (Fig. 2 and 3). Ideally, the aggressive tumour requiring treatment should be biopsied and classified in a targeted manner (Fig. 4). This is the only way to ensure optimal and comprehensive counselling of the patient.

What is an mpMRI of the prostate?

The mpMRI of the prostate (= multiparametric magnetic resonance imaging of the prostate) is a modern imaging procedure in the diagnosis of prostate carcinoma.

This special magnetic resonance examination combines a standard examination with a contrast medium examination and a density measurement of the tissue.

This allows an experienced radiologist to find regions within the prostate that are most likely to be cancerous. Often these are tumours that are not reached by conventional punch biopsy. The mpMRI can distinguish clinically irrelevant tumours from aggressive tumours and thus help to avoid unnecessary interventions.

We cooperate closely here with the radiology department https://radiologie.merianiselin.ch/ of our premium partner, the Merian Iselin Klinik in Basel. A core team of 3 specialists is responsible here for the examination and reporting of mpMRIs of the prostate. With more than 500 examinations per year, we as referring physicians, but also our patients, can rely on a great deal of experience and a very high level of expertise in this field.

What is a robot-assisted mpMRI/TRUS fusion and mapping biopsy?

The images of the mpMRI examination are reviewed by the radiologist and the treating urologist together. Areas suspected of having a tumour are marked. On the day of the biopsy, these marked images are read into the biopsy device used to check the removal of tissue from the prostate (prostate biopsy). At alta uro, the mpMRI/TRUS fusion and mapping biopsy of the prostate is performed in a standardised robot-assisted manner using the Mona Lisa system (biobot).

The biopsies are taken via the perineum and not via the rectum. This virtually eliminates the risk of bacterial infection. The procedure is performed as a short inpatient procedure under anaesthesia.

Fusion biopsy

No focal therapy without robot-assisted mpMRI/TRUS fusion and mapping biopsy

Robot-assisted, perineal mpMRI/TRUS fusion and mapping biopsy of the prostate is a prerequisite for planning focal therapy. Transrectal biopsy of the prostate is insufficient for this purpose (see study 1 below).

Studies show a clearly precise prostate cancer diagnosis

In the PRECISION study (2) published in the renowned New England Journal of Medicine, it was shown for the first time with the highest scientific quality that the combination of MRI of the prostate and subsequent targeted fusion biopsy provides more precise results than conventional ultrasound-guided biopsy. Almost 30 % of the study participants who had received an MRI had unremarkable findings. Consequently, these patients were spared a prostate biopsy, which the other participants in the study (without MRI of the prostate) had to undergo.

Based on the MRI data and the targeted biopsy in the areas previously identified as abnormal, 38% were diagnosed with relevant prostate cancer. With the standard biopsy, relevant prostate cancer was found in only 26 % of the patients. These results show that the risk assessment of a suspected prostate cancer by MRI and fusion biopsy is significantly more precise than the ultrasound-guided biopsy practised so far.

In addition, this procedure reduces the diagnosis of a prostate carcinoma that usually does not require treatment by 50 %. Although these forms of prostate cancer do not pose a danger to the men affected, the diagnosis of "prostate cancer" often causes great psychological stress.

Studies cited

"When treating prostate cancer, the quality of life of those affected is our top priority. Focal therapy ideally complements our available treatment options and closes the gap between active surveillance and surgery or radiation."

Georg Müller, MD
alta uro, AG Basel

ClickCease
Diagnostik

NanoKnife

Limitationen einer traditionellen rektalen Prostatabiopsie

Die Diagnostik bei Verdacht auf Prostatakrebs bestand bisher aus der Tastuntersuchung der Prostata (sog. digital-rektale Untersuchung, DRU) sowie Bestimmung eines Blutwerts, dem sogenannten prostataspezifischen Antigens (PSA).

Bei auffälligen Befunden wurde eine ultraschall-gesteuerte Biopsie der Prostata über den Enddarm (Rektum) durchgeführt. Diese Vorgehensweise wird heute zunehmend kritisch gesehen. Heute gilt es primär Biopsien zu vermeiden. Falls jedoch biopsiert werden muss, sollte durch die Biopsie der Tumor präzise und sicher getroffen werden. Weiterhin muss die Biopsie sicherstellen, dass in der Prostata in der übrigen Prostata keine weiteren Tumoren vorliegen. Dies ist von grösster Bedeutung für die Planung einer fokalen Therapie. Die Lösung lautet roboterassistierte mpMRT/TRUS-Fusions- und Mappingbiopsie der Prostata.

Limitationen einer traditionellen rektalen Prostatabiopsie

In der abgebildeten Prostata sind 2 Tumoren lokalisiert: In der Bildmitte oben, mit dunklem Zentrum, ein aggressives, behandlungsbedürftiges Prostatakarzinom. In der Abbildung links, hellblau, ist ein nicht-behandlungsbedürftiger Prostatakrebs dargestellt.

Prostata Biopsie
Abbildung 1/4

Prostatabiopsie

Beide Tumoren in der Prostata werden nicht getroffen.

Prostata Biopsie
Abbildung 2/4

Prostatabiopsie

Der Niedrigrisikotumor wird diagnostiziert, der aggressive und gefährliche Tumor wird übersehen.

Prostata Biopsie
Abbildung 3/4

Prostatabiopsie

Das relevante Prostatakarzinom wird nur in der Peripherie getroffen und dadurch in seiner Aggressivität unterschätzt.

Prostata Biopsie
Abbildung 4/4

Prostatabiopsie

So soll es sein. Das behandlungsbedürftige Prostatakarzinom wird zielgerichtet getroffen.

Um unnötige Behandlungen zu vermeiden, ist es wichtig, zwischen signifikanten (behandlungsbedürftigen) und insignifikanten (nicht-behandlungsbedürftigen) Prostatakarzinomen zu unterscheiden. Diese Unterteilung beruht u.a. auf der feingeweblichen (histologischen) Untersuchungen von Gewebeproben aus der Prostata, sog. Biopsien

Standardverfahren ist die systematische transrektale ultraschallgesteuerte Biopsie (TRUS). Hierbei werden über den Enddarm 10–12 Biopsiezylinder aus der Prostata entnommen. Die Sensitivität dieser traditionellen  Methode ist jedoch limitiert. Sie liegt in Autopsiestudien bei 53 %. D.h. im Rahmen der Biopsie wird ein Prostatakarzinom schlicht und einfach häufig übersehen (Abb. 1). Gelingt der Nachweis eines Prostatakarzinoms mit der TRUS-Biopsie, so stellt sich die Frage, ob das Ergebnis der Biopsie tatsächlich das feingewebliche Tumorstadium korrekt identifiziert. Dies ist für die Therapieplanung oder Prognoseabschätzung der Erkrankung von immenser Bedeutung.

Tatsächlich liegt das Risiko einer Fehlklassifizierung, d.h. aggressive Tumoren werden übersehen oder in ihrer Aggressivität unterschätzt, durch die herkömmliche Prostatabiopsie zwischen 21 % und 54 % (Abb. 2 und 3). Idealerweise sollte der aggressive, behandlungsbedürftige Tumor zielgerichtet biopsiert und klassifiziert werden (Abb. 4). Nur so kann eine optimale und vollumfängliche Beratung des Patienten gewährleistet werden.

Was ist ein mpMRT der Prostata?

Das mpMRT der Prostata (= multiparametrische Magnetresonanz-Tomographie der Prostata) ist ein modernes bildgebendes Verfahren in der Diagnostik des Prostatakarzinoms.

Bei dieser speziellen Kernspinuntersuchung wird eine Standarduntersuchung mit einer Kontrastmitteluntersuchung und einer Dichtemessung des Gewebes kombiniert.

Dadurch kann ein erfahrener Radiologe krebsverdächtige Regionen innerhalb der Prostata mit grösster Wahrscheinlichkeit finden. Oft handelt es sich dabei um Tumoren , die bei der herkömmlichen Stanzbiopsie nicht erreicht werden. Die mpMRT kann klinisch nicht relevante Tumore von aggressiven Tumoren unterscheiden und so helfen, unnötige Eingriffe zu vermeiden.

Wir kooperieren hier eng mit der radiologischen Abteilung https://radiologie.merianiselin.ch/ unseres Premiumpartners, der Merian Iselin Klinik in Basel. Ein Kernteam von 3 Spezialisten ist hier für die Untersuchung und Befundung der mpMRTs der Prostata zuständig. Mit mehr als 500 Untersuchungen pro Jahr können wir als Zuweiser, aber auch unsere Patienten, auf eine grosse Erfahrung und eine sehr hohe Expertise auf diesem Gebiet vertrauen.

Was ist eine roboterassistierte mpMRT/TRUS-Fusions- und Mappingbiopsie?

Die Bilder der mpMRT-Untersuchung werden von dem Radiologen und dem behandelnden Urologen zusammen begutachtet. Tumorverdächtige Areale werden eingezeichnet. Diese markierten Bildaufnahmen werden am Tag der Biopsie in das Biopsiegerät, das zur Kontrolle der Gewebeentnahme der Prostata (Prostatabiopsie) benutzt wird, eingelesen. Bei alta uro wird die mpMRT/TRUS-Fusions- und Mappingbiopsie der Prostata standardisiert roboterassistiert mit dem Mona Lisa System (biobot) durchgeführt.

Die Biopsien werden über den Damm und nicht über den Enddarm (Rektum) entnommen. Das Risiko einer bakteriellen Infektion kann dadurch nahezu ausgeschlossen werden. Der Eingriff erfolgt kurzstationär in Narkose.

Fusionsbiopsie

Keine fokale Therapie ohne roboterassistierte mpMRT/TRUS-Fusions- und Mappingbiopsie

Die roboterassistierte, perineale mpMRT/TRUS-Fusions- und Mappingbiopsie der Prostata ist Voraussetzung für die Planung einer fokalen Therapie. Die transrektale Biopsie der Prostata ist hierzu unzureichend (vgl. Studie 1 weiter unten)

Studien zeigen eine deutlich präzise Prostatakarzinomdiagnostik

In der im renommierten New England Journal of Medicine veröffentlichten PRECISION-Studie (2) konnte erstmals mit höchster wissenschaftlicher Qualität gezeigt werden, dass die Kombination aus MRT der Prostata und anschliessender gezielter Fusionsbiopsie präzisere Ergebnisse liefert als die herkömmliche Ultraschall-gesteuerte Biopsie. Knapp 30 % der Studienteilnehmer, die ein MRT erhalten hatten wiesen einen unauffälligen Befund auf. Folglich blieb diesen Patienten  eine Prostatabiopsie erspart, der sich die anderen Teilnehmer der Studie (ohne MRT der Prostata) unterziehen mussten.

Basierend auf den MRT-Daten und der gezielten Biopsie in den zuvor als auffällig identifizierten Arealen, wurde bei 38 % ein relevanter Prostatakrebs diagnostiziert. Mit der Standardbiopsie fand man nur bei 26 % der Patienten einen relevanten Prostatakrebs. Diese Resultate zeigen, dass die Risikobewertung eines Prostatakrebs-Verdachts per MRT und Fusionsbiopsie deutlich präziser ist als die bislang praktizierte ultraschallgesteuerte Biopsie.

Darüber hinaus reduziert dieses  Vorgehen die Diagnose einesmeist nicht behandlungsbedürftigen Prostatakarzinoms um 50 %. Diese Formen des Prostatakrebses stellen für betroffene Männer zwar keine Gefahr dar, erzeugen aber durch die Diagnose „Prostatakrebs“ jedoch oftmals eine grosse seelische Belastung.

Zitierte Studien

„Bei der Behandlung von Prostatakrebs steht die Lebensqualität der Betroffenen für uns an erster Stelle. Die fokale Therapie ergänzt unsere verfügbaren Behandlungsoptionen  ideal und schliesst die Lücke zwischen aktiver Überwachung und Operation oder Bestrahlung.“

Dr. med. Georg Müller
alta uro, AG Basel